Question on iOS geofencing implementation

Hi,

Had a question regarding how Canary is implementing geofencing. This is sort of technical, so I’m not sure if I’m posting in the right part of the forum. Also, I am a little familiar with the iOS technical docs but I am by no means an iOS developer (though I am a software developer by trade, just not iOS specifically).

In the iOS settings screen for Location Services, there is a reference to “geofencing” at the bottom, where an app that has been using geofencing shows a purple outlined (but not filled in) icon. On the other hand, an app that has been using just plain “location services” will have a filled in purple icon.

I know that Canary says their app uses “geofencing”, but I have never seen the location icon in the Location Services screen displayed as the purple outlined version; it is always the filled in purple icon.

The reason I ask is that it appears the Canary app is constantly polling for a location in the background, and causing a slightly increased, but noticeable battery drain for me. I believe (but not 100% sure) that the iOS API allows an app to use “geofencing” instead of “regular” location services. Again, I am not an iOS developer and by no means an expert in their location services API’s. I am also not 100% sure if the API’s distinguish between “geofencing” and “regular” location services (along with any potential power usage differences), but this is just something that I noticed and was wondering about the implementation details, due to the battery drain I am experiencing.

Auto switching without GPS?

Hey @DualShock,

I think you might find this article on our Help Center useful to answer some of your questions:

How does Canary know when I’m Home or Away?

This articles goes into more detail about the various services we use to pinpoint your location for auto-mode switching. Feel free to ask any additional questions you may have beyond what is covered here!